Detailed SSC CGL Syllabus

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) was established in November 4, 1975. The organization works under the Government of India and recruits staff for several posts in the various Ministries and Departments of the Government of India and in subordinate offices.
It is headquartered at New Delhi. Presently, there are seven regional offices at Allahabad, Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Guwahati, Chennai, Bangalore and two Sub-Regional Offices at Raipur and Chandigarh. Each regional office is headed by a Regional Director and each sub-regional office is headed by a Deputy-Director. The whole syllabus can be tracked on Employment News Daily.

The format of SSC CGL syllabus is as followed:

The Examination will be conducted in four tiers as indicated below:

  • Tier -I -- Online Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)
  • Tier -II -- Online Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)
  • Tier -III --Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (writing of Essay/Precis/Letter /Application Writing)
  • Tier -IV -- Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)/ Document Verification

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017 for Tier 1, 2, & 3 

SSC CGL Tier I Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier I is mandatory for all the posts and its marks are added for further process as well. If you do not clear cut-off of Tier I Exam then you will not be eligible for Tier II. Below table shows the section wise breakup of questions and marks asked in SSC CGL Tier I exam.
SubjectQuestionsMaximum MarksTotal Duration
General Intelligence & Reasoning 255060 minutes
Quantitative Aptitude2550
General English2550
General Awareness2550 

SSC CGL Exam Pattern - Tier II

In Tier II two papers are conducted on the same day. One is Quantitative Aptitude and the second one is English.
SubjectQuestionsMaximum MarksTime Duration
Quantitative Aptitude1002002 Hours
General English 2002002 Hours

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2017 - Tier III

SSC Tier IIIMaximum MarksTime Duration
Descriptive Paper in English /Hindi1001 Hour

SSC CGL 2017 Exam Pattern - Tier IV

SSC Tier IVTime DurationSyllabus
Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) for post of Assistant Section Officer in CSS & MEA only45 MinutesWord/Excel/ Power Point


Post a Comment